• International Insurance Blog

  • Thursday, February 22, 2018

Did you know that the “New” Seven Wonders of the World (7.7.2007) does not have the Pyramids of Egypt or the Eifel tower. It’s a pity that we can just have seven wonders and not eight or ten wonders. The new Seven Wonders of the World are: the Colosseum in Italy; Christ Redeemer, Brazil;  The Taj Mahal, India; Great wall of China, China(obviously); Machu Picchu, Peru; Petra, Jordan; Chichen Itza, Mexico.

The Seven Wonders of the Ancient World is the first known list of the most remarkable man-made creations of classical antiquity, and was based on guide-books popular among Hellenic sight-seers and only includes works located around the Mediterranean rim. The number seven was chosen because the Greeks believed it to be the representation of perfection and plenty.

The Seven Wonders of the Ancient World were: Great Pyramids of Giza; Hanging gardens of Babylon; Statue of Zeus in Olympia; Temple of Artemis at Ephesus; Mausoleum of Maussollos at Halicarnassus; Colossus of Rhodes; Lighthouse of Alexandria. The earliest lists had the Ishtar Gate as the seventh wonder of the world instead of the Lighthouse of Alexandria.

Wonders of the medieval world included: Stonehenge; Colosseum; Catacombs of Kom el Shoqafa; Great Wall of China; Porcelain Tower of Nanjing; Hagia Sophia; Leaning Tower of Pisa. However, there were other lists that also included: The Taj Mahal; Citadel of Cairo; Ely cathedral; Cluny Abbey.

Post a comment

Commenting is not available in this section entry.

« Wimbledon: the mecca of tennis action Adventure Travel »

International Medical Insurance - Short Term
International Health Insurance - Long Term
Trip Cancellation Insurance


BBB Business Review